Halo Reach release party

Last night I was invited by a good friend (fellow toy designer) to attend the Halo Reach official release party. My buddy works at Rob Dyrdek’s Fantasy Factory and tells me Microsoft is using the factory for it’s release of the new game (Halo Reach). So of course I was like, HELL YES! I love Halo, so do my kids. Needless to say the night was pretty awesome. I showed up a little early and got a quick “mini-tour” of Corpo and the factory.

Rob Dyrdek's Fantasy Factory

Halo Reach Entrance

There were xbox 360 consoles and flat screens everywhere! Some were linked up so multiple players could check out the new game and kick the crap out of each other. All I have to say, is the friggin Jetpack rules!!! I have a whole new respect for Halo with this release. There are some awesome new features and some bitchin new and updated weaponry. Yeah, the party going on behind us, don’t bother us, we’re gaming here! Hey dj can you turn that down? You’re drowning out my Jetpack sound.

Some of us nerds getting our Halo Reach on.

The crowd starts to arrive, they got greeted by an awesome “hollywood style” step and repeat of Halo Reach, Xbox, and Microsoft. Then they got to walk up a Halo ramp into a Halo world. It was pretty amazing.

The crowd starting to arrive via the Halo entrance

Shepard Fairey doing his DJ set

And since this blog is about die-cast, toys and cars. Auto Gelato had an awesome delivery truck.

Auto Gelato truck

Microsoft knows how to throw a party, drinks, food, music, video games, awesome venue, hands down, best industry party I’ve been to.

Zombies looking for Food!

Welcome to Halo world. Where we party like it’s 1999, I mean… 2099.

Halo Crowd

This is Rob Dyrdek’s T-rex, I wanted to take it out for a spin, but you know, too many people in the way.

Rob's T-Rex

The stars were out, apparently I missed some of them, but Michelle Rodriguez, Zachary Levi, Nathan Fillion, Justin Beiber, B.o.B, Diplo, Olivia Munn, and I don’t know who else, but they were there. I heard one of the guys from Office Space was there, it was like NERD HEAVEN. Here’s Michelle Rodriguez trying out Halo Reach. She seemed to really like it.

Actress Michelle Rodriguez trying out Halo Reach

Got a chance to meet and chat with some of the game’s designers/developers from Bungie. Really cool dudes, who flew out just for this party. They were like the rockstars of the night in my opinion.

Some of the Halo Reach developers and Castro

The musical performances were awesome. B.o.B and his band kicked arse and had all the hipsters shaking their booties.

B.o.B performing

Me giving Halo Reach a spin

I had never listened to Diplo before, but his set was pretty much fire. Looking into his musical catalog now.

Diplo on the One's and Two's

We met Zachary Levi from Chuck, turns out he is toy nerd just like us. Very cool dude.

Cisco, Trace, Zachary Levi from Chuck, and Castro

See here, I thought my desk and toy collecting habit was bad, but Tracy has since surpassed my TOY NERDINESS. This is about 1% of the toys in his office. NERD.

Tracy's toys

One thing I realized after this awesome night in L.A., I NEED A NEW CAMERA. Oh wait, there is ONE MORE THING….

My copy of Halo Reach!!!

Leave a Reply

